Looking For iTunes Help

I thought I would use this forum to see if anybody can help me out. I’m looking for either an iPhone app, AppleScript, or a way to lay out a smart playlist in iTunes for a particular problem.

Here’s the background… I have a 16gb iPhone. I have an absolutely enormous iTunes library (almost 130gb… Over 28,000 songs). Obviously, I had to set up a playlist in iTunes just for my iPhone music. The problem that I’m having is that even with paring my library down to 9gb for the iPhone, between apps, pictures, podcasts, etc, I am constantly running out of room and having to delete music from my playlist in order to make it fit. And forget about trying to add anything new to the playlist. Purchasing a larger iPhone is out of the question right now for me.

What I’d like to do… I’d like to build a smart playlist (or get an AppleScript for iTunes) that would allow me take my iPhone playlist and mix it up every time I sync. Have it set to sync, say only 8gb of music, even though that particular playlist is 9, 10, or more gb. This way, I can keep adding music to the iPhone playlist and never have to remove any. Whenever I connect to iTunes, it would randomly sync only the set amount.

As an example, let’s say I have the following music in my iPhone playlist:

Song A
Song B
Song C
Song D
Song E
Song F
Song G

My iPhone can only hold songs A, B, C, D, & E

When I connect to iTunes, this program would randomly rotate out Song A and swap in song F. But the next time I sync, it might swap A back in while taking out B and adding G.

Hopefully this makes sense. Please feel free to leave a comment if you have any questions or ideas.

Thank you all for your help!

2 comments on “Looking For iTunes Help

  1. Hey there, Allen Thompson from OhioProg & WBWC here. Came across your post here and wanted to comment on it. From one radio guy to another 😉

    I share the same sentiments when it comes to music. I’ve got probably a 1.5TB library (once I get everything digitized) and I’ve found that an iPod these days is very limited. Of course there is “cloud storage” which is the next big thing I guess. That though is what sort of saved my concerns. Specifically a company called MeCanto. They allow you to install a client on your computer which monitors your music folder and uploads your music to their servers (aka “the cloud”) and really acts as a remote hard drive for your music. Then you’d DL their app for your iPhone, iPod touch or whatever and be able to access all your music through that. Your computer doesn’t need to be turned on or anything because it’s all been uploaded, it’s not a streaming thing. I came across them when they were free (amazingly) but now it is something like 12 dollars a year to “subscribe” to their services if you will. I was surprised more people weren’t big on them being free and unlimited storage. Most people just didn’t know about them is what I gathered. However, the thing is, the storage is UNLIMITED. Whereas Google is getting into the cloud storage for music with their Google Music, however they limit uploads to 20,000 songs. Amazon is offering their Cloud Player / Storage and for a limited time is offering unlimited storage if you purchase an album. But that will only last a year for that promotion. So I suggest that you try out MeCanto to help with the problem you are facing…lots of music and not a lot of space. You can also access MeCanto through a web browser and listen to your collection through the music player on their web browser too.

    The process you are describing though I am not aware of an app that does that, however I certainly see that as being something that would have a market out there. Obviously you’d be interested. I say try out MeCanto and see if it works for your needs. It will take a while to upload all that music though. I suggest you leave your computer on to DL it all. It took me about 3 weeks straight to upload over 30,000 tunes. Now I just run it as I add new stuff.

    Hope that helps.

    Take care,

    Allen Thompson
    Operations Director, co-Founder | OhioProg | http://www.ohioprog.com
    WBWC 88.3FM | Somewhere Between Sunrise & Sunset “your program of progressive rock” | http://www.wbwc.com/sunset

Leave a Reply

